You can use the Device Switch app to switch from a device running the BlackBerry OS (version 5.0 to 7.1) to a device running the BlackBerry 10 OS. Learn what you can transfer using the Device Switch app, how to use the app, and what you should do after the app transfers your data.
Another way to switch devices is to use BlackBerry Link and a computer. For more information about using BlackBerry Link, click the BlackBerry Link tab at the top of the screen.
The following types of data can be transferred when you use the Device Switch app:
If you switch your media card to your new device, you can transfer the data that is saved on the media card.
The following types of data aren't transferred when you use the Device Switch app:
BlackBerry 10 devices use either micro SIM cards or nano SIM cards. You might need to contact your service provider to get a new SIM card for your new device.
End of Accordion
Before you use the Device Switch app, do the following:
You can use the Device Switch app to transfer data from a BlackBerry 10 device to your new BlackBerry 10 device.
Before you begin, complete the tasks in Before you use the Device Switch app.
If you transfer a large amount of data, it might take some time to finish transferring the data to your new device. Only data saved in your device storage space is transferred. Data that is saved on your media card or wirelessly backed up or synced with a web-based account isn't transferred to your new device. To transfer data associated with a web-based account, add the account to your new device.
If you experience problems transferring your data, contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
If your organization uses BES10 or BES12, you can add your work account to your device and take advantage of features such as BlackBerry Balance. If your organization uses BES5 or earlier, you can still add your work account and have it use Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync. For more information, contact your administrator.
Make sure you know the following from your administrator:
Make sure you know the following from your administrator or your email service provider:
When you add an email account that is supported by Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync, the messages, calendar events, contacts, tasks, and notes that are associated with the account are synced with your BlackBerry device.
After you transfer data to your new BlackBerry 10 device, consider deleting all of the data on your previous device running the BlackBerry OS (version 5.0 to 7.1). A security wipe is designed to permanently delete your data so that it can't be recovered. This includes email accounts, downloaded apps, media files, documents, browser bookmarks, and settings.you have turned on data encryption. The process for deleting your device data can take up to an hour to complete. You can’t stop the process after you start it. If you reset your device, the process restarts after the device restarts.
When the security wipe is completed, your device turns off automatically. To turn on your device, press the Power/Lock key.
You can download and buy apps using the BlackBerry World storefront app or the Amazon Appstore app. Both apps are included on your BlackBerry 10 device. For more information about BlackBerry World and Amazon Appstore, search the Help app on your device.
End of Accordion
To get help using your PRIV, simply click the BlackBerry Help icon.
Chat with friends on Android, BlackBerry and iPhone.